This is to inform all the parents that CBSE has changed the examination pattern from the academic session 2017-18.The CCE pattern has been scraped.Class X will completely be Board Examinations. It is essential to secure 40% marks individually in each subject in the internal exams as well as the Annual Examination.

Highlight of Board Exams 
1. It is compulsory for all the students to appear for Boards. 

2. Entire syllabus will come for the Board Exam.

3. Marks will be awarded for all the subjects. 

4. The Board Paper will be of 80 Marks. 

5. Students have to score 27 or more out of 80 to clear the exam for each subject.

6. Formative Assessment is discontinued.20 marks are for Internal Assessment:

7. Periodic Tests: 10 Marks of Internal Assessment are from periodic tests. Total 3 periodic tests will

be conducted in an academic year for each subject. Average of best two will be counted in the Internal

Assessment out of 10 marks.

8. No up gradation will be done on co-scholastic activities.

The details of the pattern of Examination are as follows:-




Marks distribution 
80 Marks (Exam)
20 (Internals)

• English

• Hindi

• Maths

• Science

• S.St

• Sanskrit / French (From gr 5 on words)

*Student has to secure 40% marks in each subject to pass.

*8 Points Grading system will be followed.

Periodic Assessment weightage

(10 Marks)

*Two written test of 20 marks each. (Tuesday Test)

Term-1 Examination is Carried in Month of September.

5 Marks is for -





Up keeping of the Notebook Subject wise.

Enrichment Activity

(5 Marks)

*Speaking and listening skills in Languages.

*Science & Maths Lab activities.

*S.St- Map Work Project

*Computer - Journal / project / PPT

Note:Syllabus for Final examination class wise is

* 2nd term syllabus + 10% of the 1st term for Gr. 3rd – 6th

* 2nd term syllabus + 20% of the 1st term for Gr. 7th

* 2nd term syllabus + 30% of the 1st term for Gr. 8th

** From now on wards the students not scoring required marks will not be eligible to be promoted to the next class.




Marks Distribution -
80 Marks (Final Exam)
20 Marks (Internal)

• English

• Hindi

• Maths

• Science

• S.St

• Sanskrit / French / Hindi (Any One)

secure 40 % marks in each subject to pass.

*8 Points Grading scale for IX and 9 points grading scale for X will be followed.

Periodic Assessment weightage

(10 Marks)

*Two weekly cycles of 20 marks each, for all the subjects.

* Term-1 exam (in September)

* Final in Month of February / March

Notebook Assessment

(5 Marks)

This includes:-


Timely Completion



Up keeping of Notebook all Subjects.

Enrichment Activity

(5 Marks)

*ASL in English,Hindi,


*Science & Maths Lab Work, Projects

*S.St.- Map Work Projects

Computer - Journal of Project.

Note: Syllabus for final examination will be full syllabus (Term-1 + Term-2) in all the subjects.


To promote the holistic development of the student’s Co-curricular Activities will be graded on a

3 points scale of grading (A-C). No upgradation will be done on the basis of co-curricular activities.

a. Work Education/ Pre-vocational education:- General computer Education will be assessed on a three point scale.

b. Visual & Performing Arts:- Art Education & the form of Creative Art selected by the students will be assessed on a three              point scale.

c. Health & Physical Education:- Sports / Yoga / NCC will be assessed on a three point scale.

d. Values:-Discipline, Attendance, Sincerity & Behavioral Values will be assessed on a three point scale.



A1 91-100 10.0

A2 81-90 9.0

B1 71-80 8.0

B2 61-70 7.0

C1 51-60 6.0

C2 41-50 5.0

D 33-40 4.0

E 32-0 3.0(Need Improvements)

Scholastic Area (For X)

(Grading on 9 Points scale) Co-Scholastic Areas

(Grading on 3 Point Scale)


A Out Standing

B Very Good

C Fair


(Arranging the marks in Descending order in all the subjects separately)

A1 Top 1/8 of the passed candidates

A2 Next 1/8 after A1

B1 Next 1/8 after A2

B2 Next 1/8 after B1

C1 Next 1/8 after B2

C2 Next 1/8 after C1

D1 Next 1/8 after C2

D2 Next 1/8 after D1

E Failed candidates

X-tra Efforts

It's a new initiative taken up by The New Tulip International School to give a specialized coaching or individual attention to the weak students on Friday 2 to 4 and Saturday 8:30 to 1:30 for all the students.

ICSE BOARD                                                                                                                                                                                                 

The Council for the Indian School Certificate Examination was established in 1958 by the University of Cambridge Local Examination, Syndicate. It is a registered body under the societies Registration Act No. XXI of 1860.

The Indian Certificate of Secondary Education examination has been designed to provide an examination through the medium of English where candidates are required to enter for six/ seven/ eighth and SUPW.
To develop and integrate the use of the four language skills i.e. Listening, Speaking, Reading and writing for the purpose of effective communication where English is stressed upon.

There is a board examination in Class X. The subjects to be taken are as follows:

Group I

1. English.
2. Second language (Hindi or any other regional language).
3. History, Civis, Geography.

Group II

1. Science & Maths or Economics & Commercial Studies.

Tulip offers Computer Application as an optional subject. The weightage of marks is 80% Board Exams and 20% Internal Assessment (on Practicals or Project) awarded by the school. 

Students appearing for the ICSE exams

From 2015 the choice of an additional second language, Hindi will be available.

CIE (Cambridge)                                                                                                                                                                                        

University of Cambridge International Examination is India's largest provider of International qualifications for children aged 14-19 years. The educational excellence makes Cambridge qualifications- like IGCSE and International AS & A levels renowned among universities and employers. The IGCSE (equivalent to Grade X for Indian Boards) and As & A levels (Grade XI & XII of Indian Boards) develop life long thinking and learning skills – preparing students for success in an ever changing world. Cambridge qualifications are recognized by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The medical council of India has recognized class XII (A level) of Cambridge University Examination as equivalent to CBSE XII Grade.

It has 5 levels
  • Primary Check Point (Grade VII) optional
  • CIE Check Point (Class VIII)
  • CIE IGCSE (Class X)
  • As level (Class XI Indian Board)
  • A level (Class XII Indian Board) 
For IGCSE the candidates are required to be assessed on subjects drawn from the following 5 subject groups.
  • Languages (Grade I)
  • Humanities (Grade II)
  • Sciences (Grade III)
  • Maths (Grade IV)
  • Creative Technical & Vocational (Grade V)
Children are offered 7 subjects in ICSE and 5 subjects in AS / A level. The grades awarded are from A* to G. Examinations are held twice a year (May / June and Oct / Nov).

  • Higher Education Guidance
  • Extra Efforts
  • Admission Abroad (Guidance)
  • Preparation for competitive exams for higher studies